Beef with Corn & Mushroom

23 Jan

This was simply delicious. :)

I’m not bragging but I think I got this dish just right. The beef was tender and I chanced on the right amount of spices. The recipe was sent to me by one of my high school friends and I remember that it was served during her son’s baptism several years ago.

Here’s the recipe for Beef with Corn & Mushroom:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 kilo beef strips (sirloin)
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 1 to 2 cups of water
  • oyster sauce
  • 2-3 tetra packs of All Purpose cream
  • 1 can sliced button mushrooms
  • 1 can sliced baby corn
  • paprika
  • salt & pepper

Procedure:

  1. marinate beef strips in oyster sauce for 30 mins to 1 hr.
  2. once beef strips are ready, saute garlic and onions.
  3. add the beef. Then add water to boil.
  4. add all purpose cream, salt & pepper to taste. Add a dash of paprika powder.
  5. add the mushrooms.
  6. put lid on, boil until cream thickens.

*I solved my problem with the onions–I cut the ends, then washed the onion in running water. Cutting the onion didn’t make me tear up anymore. :)

I marinated the beef overnight to let the oyster sauce seep into the meat. I rendered the meat in garlic and onions then made sure to boil it in really low heat. It took about 30 minutes to make the beef tender enough.

I used only 2 tetra packs of all purpose cream–I think it was enough for the 1/2 kilo of beef. I also added more than a dash of paprika, and about a teaspoon of salt and pepper.

This is very easy to cook and a great dish to serve to your family and friends. :)

One Response to “Beef with Corn & Mushroom”

  1. Pao December 22, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    Great Recipe!!! =) we’re happy for the outcome when after cooking. It’s like a fine dining restaurant dish. Thanks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

